User security operations performed in the DeltaV User Manager are tracked by Version Control Audit Trail, for DeltaV database accounts only. If the account is both a DeltaV database account and an operating system account, only the changes made through DeltaV User Manager are tracked.
The audit trail tracks creation of new DeltaV database accounts and account modifications and deletions by storing the date, time, user name, and description of the event in the Version Control Audit Trail database. Version Control Recover, Purge, and Show History commands can be accessed from the User Manager. Version Control must be enabled for User Manager changes to be tracked. Use the User Manager online help for information on adding, deleting, and modifying accounts. The Version Control Check Out and Check In preferences do not apply to User Manager. User security items are automatically checked out and checked in.
When Version Control is enabled and a change is made in DeltaV User Manager, the Version Control - Messages dialog provides a log of Version Control activities. In some DeltaV applications such as the Explorer and Control Studio, check marks indicate that an item has been checked out of Version Control. There are no indications of Version Control activity other than the messages dialog in the DeltaV User Manager application.
In the example shown above, a new user account (Jane Doe) is added in DeltaV User Manager.
As shown in the following image, when a modification is made to an existing account, the messages dialog indicates that the account data is checked out of Version Control and then checked in when the changes are made.
Similar Version Control messages are logged for all User Manager actions when Version Control is enabled.
The Version Control Show History and Purge and Recover commands can be accessed from the DeltaV User Manager's Tools menu. With Version Control enabled, deleted User Manager items can be recovered from the Version Control database or permanently removed from the Version Control database. Similarly, you can access a user account's version control history from the DeltaV User Manager. Select the user name and click .
You can delete a user's DeltaV database account without deleting the operating system account. If this has been done and you recover that account, the DeltaV Database Account box on the user account's properties (General tab) is selected. If both the DeltaV database account and the operating system account are deleted and then recovered, the system prompts you for a password (that is compliant with the Windows password complexity requirements) to be allowed to restore that account.
The following table lists what items Version Control restores when a user or a group is rolled back.
| Restored | Not restored | |
|---|---|---|
|
User |
Groups the user is a member of |
Description |
|
Group |
Description |
Members of the group |