Version Control > Version Control for DeltaV Operate displays

Creating new DeltaV Operate files with Version Control enabled

New files (displays, dynamos or schedules) can only be created from DeltaV Operate. When a new file is created, the template is opened and the new file is created from the template when you select the Save As option from the File menu. This is the normal process for creating a new graphic, schedule or dynamo set.

Note

Do not use Save on the templates as this can overwrite the existing template (if checked out). A dialog reminding you to use Save As is displayed when you check out a template file.

When you close the new file, Version Control adds the file to the database and automatically checks the file out. This is true even if AutoCheckIn/Out is not enabled. You can see the new file in DeltaV Explorer at this time. If AutoCheckIn is not enabled, you must check the file in from DeltaV Explorer when done editing it.

You cannot create a file with the same name as another file with Version Control enabled, unless that file is checked out. If you do enter an already existing name, a dialog first warns you that you are using an existing name and then you are warned that you cannot overwrite the file. You must give the file a unique name. However, if the file is checked out, you can overwrite that file. This does not create a new file, it merely overwrites the existing file.

Important

Files can be copied, deleted, renamed, and edited in DeltaV Operate ONLY. When opening a file from DeltaV Explorer, DeltaV Operate is launched in configure mode.