With Version Control enabled, there is a difference where DeltaV Operate looks for files you are editing. This is an important difference from how DeltaV Operate functioned previously; however, DeltaV Operate retains the same tree structure as before.
With VCAT enabled, checked-out versions of any DeltaV Operate source files always reside on the ProfessionalPLUS machine in a working directory (DVData\DisplayWorking). VCAT places the file there when you check the file out. You are able to edit checked-out files from other DeltaV workstations through DeltaV Operate in configure mode because the non-ProfessionalPLUS workstation connects to the ProfessionalPLUS machine and accesses the files in the ProfessionalPLUS's working directory.
However, when DeltaV Operate is in run mode, you are running the files in the local machine's graphics folder. Therefore, if you are editing a checked-out file on a non-ProfessionalPLUS machine, you must first check the file back into Version Control and download the ProfessionalPLUS and that workstation before switching to run mode to use the edited version of the file. Checking the file back into VCAT allows the file to reside in a central storage location. Downloading the workstation's Setup Data places the current Version Control copy of the file on the workstation. If you download the workstation without having checked in the edited file, you will not see the current changes. Those changes still exist on the ProfessionalPLUS machine's working directory as that is where you were making the edits.
Additionally when Version Control is enabled, the picture path in the System Configuration Utility displays the ProfessionalPLUS's working directory. When Version Control is disabled, this path will be the same as the local graphics directory for that workstation.