Version Control > Version Control for DeltaV Operate displays

Downloading DeltaV Operate files with Version Control enabled

Whenever new or modified files have been checked into the Version Control database, you must download the setup data to the ProfessionalPLUS first and then to all Operator Stations. You can also download all workstations at the same time by downloading the Control Network. This takes the current files (that is, the most recent files stored in the Version Control database) and places a copy of them on the workstations. When DeltaV Operate is in run mode, the displays being used are on the local machine. Therefore, if the workstation has not been downloaded, it will not have the most current files.

The ProfessionalPLUS workstation must be downloaded first (or with the other workstations). The ProfessionalPLUS behaves as a configuration machine and also as an operating machine. Therefore, once the files are checked into the Version Control database, the working directory on the ProfessionalPLUS is no longer active. The ProfessionalPLUS uses its local running directory updated with the current files from the Version Control database, the same as any other workstation.

There is an option on downloading to allow downloads of checked out items. This allows you to download files to each workstation, even though they are checked out of the Version Control database. However, you are not downloading the version of the file that is being worked on. You are downloading the last version of the file prior to being checked out. The logged in user must have the VC_DOWNLOAD_CHECKEDOUT key to select this option.

Important

You must download the ProfessionalPLUS and all workstations after enabling or disabling Version Control.