DeltaV FlexLock

FlexLock overview

FlexLock starts automatically on both desktops when a user logs on. When the Autoswitch Desktop option is selected (the default), the DeltaV desktop initially opens. When the current user logs off, the next user to log on sees the FlexLock application with the DeltaV Desktop button pressed. This selection indicates that FlexLock switched the user to the DeltaV desktop.

A user with Windows administrator or Windows Desktop Access can select the Windows Desktop button from FlexLock and switch to the Windows desktop. A user who does not have Windows administrator or Windows Desktop Access is restricted to DeltaV Operate or DeltaV Live. If a user without sufficient privilege attempts to switch to the Windows Desktop, a prompt appears. Users who have an administrator account can enter a name and password and switch to the Windows desktop.

Users without Windows administrator or Windows Desktop Access who attempt to switch to the Windows Desktop receive a message indicating they lack the proper privileges and are prompted to enter an administrator name and password. If the user enters the proper administrator name and password, FlexLock switches to the Windows desktop.

Users with the proper DeltaV account type can prevent FlexLock from automatically switching to the DeltaV desktop when subsequently logging on by deselecting the Autoswitch Desktop option from the System menu.

If you exit the FlexLock application from the Windows desktop, click Start → DeltaV Engineering → FlexLock to open the FlexLock application. You cannot exit the FlexLock application from the DeltaV desktop.

Note

It is possible that a Remote Client session running FlexLock does not appear on the Processes tab of the Windows Task Manager. If it is necessary to close FlexLock (for instance, to uninstall the DeltaV system), select the Show processes from all users check box on the Task Manager Processes tab. Then select and end the process DeskTop.exe, which is the FlexLock name in the process list.