Engineers and administrators with Windows desktop privilege have two options for logging off and disconnecting from a remote session. Before disconnecting from the Windows desktop, first close any DeltaV or Windows applications you are running (such as DeltaV Explorer, Control Studio, Task Manager). Then logoff using one of the following methods:
It is very important that remote users do not use the Shut Down option from the Windows Start menu when they are connected to a DeltaV Remote Client server because this will shut down the server machine. It is recommended that the Shut Down option be disabled by the Windows Administrator.
If you are logged on to a remote desktop session, do not use the Close button (X) on the remote Windows title bar to close your session. This will disconnect your Windows session, but your programs will continue to run while you are disconnected.
The system administrator should configure automatic ending of disconnected or idle sessions after a specified amount of time. When a session is ended this way, all Windows and DeltaV applications are closed and the session is deleted from the server.