DeltaV system security > DeltaV User Manager and DeltaV security

Managing DeltaV user accounts

DeltaV user accounts are managed through DeltaV User Manager. Users can be given Windows Operating System accounts, DeltaV accounts, or both. In a workgroup environment, users must have both a Windows and a DeltaV account on each workstation where they log on. In a domain environment, users must have a domain account (a Windows account on the domain server) but do not need a Windows account on each of the individual workstations. To prevent a user from logging on to a particular workstation in a workgroup environment, do not give that user a Windows account on that workstation. You can also prevent a user from logging on to a particular workstation in a domain. Refer to the Domain section in your Windows documentation for information about restricting domain accounts from access to specific workstations.

User accounts for domains and workgroups are set up in the same way. The main distinction is that in a workgroup, you access the user accounts for the local workstation on which you are running DeltaV User Manager. In a domain system, whether you are running DeltaV User Manager from the domain server or from a workstation in the domain, you are accessing the domain accounts.

Be aware that many of the default users are required for the DeltaV services (such as the DeltaV database service). Changes to these users (for example, DeltaVAdmin user) affect how and if your DeltaV system continues to run as expected.

Note

You must have administrative privileges (that is, be a member of the either the Windows Administrators group or the DeltaV Admins group or both) to use DeltaV User Manager. Windows Administrators membership allows you to create and modify user accounts. DeltaV Admins group membership allows you to modify DeltaV group membership and key assignments.

Deleting DeltaV user accounts

You can delete the user's Windows account, DeltaV account, or both.
  • If you delete both the user's Windows account and DeltaV account, the user name is deleted from the system.
  • When you delete a DeltaV user account, the corresponding operating system account is automatically disabled. You can reenable the operating system account in User Manager.

    Windows user accounts are not affected when only a DeltaV user account is deleted.