Version Control

Setting up and disabling Version Control

Version Control is an optional feature and requires an additional license. Enable this feature only if you need to keep a strict history of configuration changes. Because Version Control retains copies of all versions of configuration items, it may require a substantial amount of disk space. Version Control can have a slightly negative performance effect on the system.

Typically, Version Control should not be enabled until the system is ready for factory acceptance testing. However, the time at which Version Control is enabled should be based on customer requirements. Note that once you have enabled Version Control, disabling it will create a gap in your configuration history.

To install Microsoft SQL Server Standard, select the Install Microsoft SQL check box in the DeltaV Workstation Configuration dialog, which appears during the DeltaV software installation on a ProfessionalPLUS workstation. If DeltaV software has already been installed, you can run Setup-SQL.exe, located in the \DeltaV\bin directory.

After installing Microsoft SQL Server Standard on the ProfessionalPLUS workstation, run the DeltaV Database Administrator application using a DeltaV Administrator account type. The Database Administrator contains a tool called Version Control Configuration. Open this tool and select the options you require.

Note

Enabling Version Control for the first time can take several hours depending on the size of the configuration.

You can monitor VCAT's progress by watching the Version Control - Messages dialog. Avoid using other applications during VCAT enable. The time required to enable VCAT may increase if other CPU-intensive activities are also being performed.

After enabling Version Control, you can set your Version Control preferences using DeltaV Explorer.

If you are logged on using a DeltaV Administrator account type, you can use the Version Control Configuration tool in the Database Administrator tools to enable and disable Version Control. Once Version Control is disabled, you will no longer have a record of changes made to the configuration. The Version Control Configuration tool warns you if there are any checked out items. You can disable Version Control even with items checked out.