There are two different logons for your system: the Windows logon and the DeltaV logon. The Windows logon logs the user on to the workstation to access the computer system. Access to specific Windows system resources and the type of access the user has depends upon the Windows user privileges (that is, Windows group memberships and assigned user roles). User privileges are set using the DeltaV User Manager.
When a user logs on to the system, the DeltaV Logon window appears. The DeltaV logon allows the user to access DeltaV resources and applications. Access to specific DeltaV system applications and resources and the type of access the user has depends upon user privileges (that is, Windows and DeltaV group memberships and assigned user roles). User privileges are set using the DeltaV User Manager.
When you log off of the DeltaV system, be sure to log off of Windows as well, especially if you are logged on to the system with Windows Administrator privileges. Until you log off of Windows, subsequent users logging on to the DeltaV system are operating under the Windows Administrator account. The Windows Administrator account grants the user the right to perform actions that could interfere with the operation of the DeltaV system.
When setting up the DeltaV system, make sure that Autoswitch Desktop is enabled. Doing so helps protect against operators and maintenance personnel having unrestricted access to the system if a user with administrator privileges is logged on to the underlying Windows system.
Make sure that all users with Windows administrator privileges log off of the Windows system after have finished using a workstation. Do not allow non-administrative users to log on to the DeltaV system on top of an underlying Windows Administrator logon.