It is assumed that all communications rules have been created and
tested.
On the firewall's web UI navigate to the
Protection tab
Inbound connections and
Outbound connections and delete the ping rules
that were created as part of the configuration procedure.
Go to
Administration → Backup/Restore
and create a new backup of the configuration.
This saves the configuration locally on the firewall.
On the
Backup/Restore page, click
copy to local PC (listed under
Actions) and save the configuration in case
you need to restore it later.
Note
The backup cannot be used to make configuration changes from
outside the firewall; it is only used to restore a configuration.
Go to
Administration → Configuration
audit and print the configuration.
For audit purposes this should be signed and dated and stored as
part of the firewall change management process. If possible it should also be
printed to a file and stored with the configuration backup.
Navigate to the
Dashboard tab and ensure that all of the ping
rules are disconnected and only valid communications are listed.
Go to
Administration → Restart
page and restart the firewall (if possible).
This ensures that the firewall is properly configured and if at
a later time, the firewall restarts, you will know it allows the communications
to successfully restart. It also ensures the ping communications and any other
communications created in which the rules are deleted or disabled are
completely terminated.