Continuous Historian Administration application

Delete a historical data set

You can delete any of the current or extended historical data sets in Primary storage.

To delete one or more data sets, the user must have the DeltaV security key for the HDS_DELETE function, and then complete the following steps:

To delete one or more data sets, complete the following steps.

  1. In the right pane, select the data set(s) you wish to delete.
    To select more than one data set, hold down the CTRL or SHIFT key while selecting.
  2. Press the DELETE key or click the Delete Data Set(s) icon on the toolbar.
    You can also select Delete Data Set(s) from the Tools menu or right-click the data set and select Delete History Data Set(s) from the context menu.
  3. Click Yes on the Confirm dialog to delete the selected data sets or No to cancel the deletion request.
    The Delete History Data Set(s) dialog shows the progress of the deletion operation.

    If you interrupt the process by using the Abort button, any data set currently being deleted is completely deleted to ensure that there are no incomplete data sets.

  4. Click Close to close the Delete History Data Set(s) dialog.