DeltaV Live workstations are managed and configured through Workstation Management, which can be opened either from DeltaV Live Administration or the Graphics Studio ribbon. The Workstation Management dialog lists all downloaded DeltaV workstations and remote client sessions in the system. In order for a DeltaV workstation or remote client session to run DeltaV Live software and participate in DeltaV Live configuration deployment (publishing), it must be enabled as a DeltaV Live workstation. DeltaV ProfessionalPLUS workstations are enabled as DeltaV Live workstations by default and always remain enabled; their status cannot be changed. Other workstations/sessions that need to run DeltaV Live must be manually enabled as DeltaV Live workstations. When enabling or disabling remote client sessions for DeltaV Live, their host Operator Station must first be enabled or disabled for DeltaV Live.
Several DeltaV Live settings can be configured for each DeltaV Live workstation and remote client session. These settings include choosing the mode in which DeltaV Live starts, the layout to be used, the display sets to be available, and the themes to be available. These settings are specific to each workstation and remote client session. For workstations only, you can also configure which operator application/s to use, the FlexLock settings, and the Ctrl+Alt+Del Screen Local Policy settings. Remote client sessions, however, inherit these settings from their server host; therefore, these settings cannot be configured for individual remote sessions.
| DeltaV Live setting | Workstations |
Remote |
|---|---|---|
| The operator application to use on this workstation | YES | NO |
|
FlexLock settings. |
YES | NO |
|
Ctrl+Alt+Del Screen Local Policy settings. |
YES | NO |
| The mode in which DeltaV live starts (Full Desktop or Window). | YES | YES |
| The layout, display sets, and themes to be available on the selected workstation | YES | YES |
Configuration updates to DeltaV Live-enabled workstations/sessions must be saved and published before they can be deployed online. If you disable or remove a DeltaV Live-enabled workstation and publish its configuration, DeltaV Live closes on that workstation and notifies the user that the workstation is not set up to run DeltaV Live. DeltaV Live workstation configuration can also be imported and exported through Workstation Management.
To provide a more secure operating environment, a DeltaV-enabled workstation can be configured as a dedicated-purpose operator station, limiting operators to the DeltaV Live application and to those applications available to the user through DeltaV Live. When the user logs on to a dedicated-purpose operator station, it automatically switches to the DeltaV Desktop and launches directly into DeltaV Live. Creating a dedicated-purpose operator station involves a number of recommended workstation settings and best practices. See this topic's subtopic for more details on configuring this type of workstation.