Remote Access Control Application overview

The DeltaV Remote Access Control application supports the use of a secondary or backup Remote Access Server. If the primary or preferred workstation node that provides remote access to the run-time data either fails or needs to be changed, the system can easily be switched over to the secondary or backup workstation. The DeltaV Remote Access Control application can also be used to setup remote workstations to access more than one DeltaV System and to switch access between DeltaV Systems.

Switch Remote Access Server

This displays the configured remote access server, the current remote access server and a list of available remote access servers and their number of available connections. Once you select a server node and click the Next button, all communications are switched from the old server node to the new server node. The current DeltaV Server name and IP addresses are updated in the Windows Registry on the remote workstation. You can always switch to your configured server even if it shows 0 available connections.

Switch DeltaV Systems

This displays the current system and the list of systems which this remote workstation has been set up to access. Once you select a system and click the Next button, the DeltaV services are shut down while the Windows Registry entries are modified to point to the new system. Afterward, the DeltaV services are restarted accessing the newly selected DeltaV System.

Add/Revise DeltaV System Access

This selection sets up the remote workstation to access an additional DeltaV System. After selecting this option, you are asked to enter the name of the workstation configuration file exported from the DeltaV Explorer of the DeltaV System you want to add access for. Entering the file name and clicking the Next button creates a new set of Windows Registry entries and DVData files for accessing the new DeltaV System. Select Switch DeltaV Systems to actually switch access to this system.

Remove DeltaV System Access

This selection removes the workstation's access a DeltaV system. After selecting this option, click Next and select the DeltaV system you want to remove access to, and click Next again. Once access is removed, you will have to add the DeltaV system back if you want this workstation to access that DeltaV system in the future.