AMS Device Manager: Configure a fieldbus device or placeholder

The Configuration dialog shows the parameters for the device blocks associated with a fieldbus device. These parameters are grouped on tabs. The fields on each tab correspond to fieldbus device parameters.

Right-click a device and select Configure from the context menu to launch the Configuration dialog. From the Configuration dialog, you can:

  • View the currently displayed parameters

    Each parameter has a label and a value.

  • Select a different set of parameters

    Device parameters are logically grouped on tabs associated with resource/transducer device blocks. Click other tabs or device blocks in the dialog to view or make changes to other parameters.

  • Change parameters

    Enter or select new values for editable parameters. Changed fields appear in yellow. Tabs appear in yellow when one or more field parameters on the tab are changed. Other fields on this tab or other tabs may turn yellow due to an association with the field(s) you changed.

    Note:
    Parameter settings of historical configurations cannot be changed.
  • Display help on parameters

    Descriptions of device block parameters are provided by the device manufacturer as popup help text. To display a description of a particular parameter, use one of these options:

    • Click on the toolbar and then click the parameter.

      -OR-

    • Press F1 when the focus is on the parameter.
  • Apply configuration changes

    Select an option below to commit any changes you make to the device block parameters:

    • Click the OK button to commit changes and close the dialog.
    • Click the Apply button to commit changes and continue in the dialog. Apply also refreshes the dialog and changes any tabs that were yellow (indicating changes to parameters) back to gray.
    • Click the Cancel button to close the dialog without saving any changes made since the last Apply operation.
      Note:
      If you commit changes by clicking Apply, and subsequently exit by clicking Cancel, previously applied changes are not rolled back.