Device masters and device configuration templates

Renaming, deleting, and changing device masters and device configuration templates

If you rename a device master or device configuration template, each consumer of that master or template is updated to display the new name of the master or template.

If you delete a device master or device configuration template, each consumer of that master or template retains a record of the name of the master or template and the date of its application. Each consumer displays the missing-link icon where appropriate. Each consumer retains the configuration values it received from the template or master. The values cannot be re-applied from that master or template, but you can apply a new master or template and remove the association with the old master or template.

If you change the configuration values of a device master or device configuration template, I/O Studio asks you whether you want to reapply updated values to all consumers. If you do not reapply values, all consumers will display the broken link icon where appropriate.

If you change the device definition of a master or template, consumers of that master or template will have their association with the overwritten master or template broken and display the incompatible icon where appropriate. You will be unable to re-apply the changed master or template to those consumers if they are incompatible with the new device definition. However, you can apply a new master or template and remove the association with the old master or template.